Shred Guitars  

Go Back   Shred Guitars > Other cool guitars & misc important things... > Amp Alley

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2012, 11:55 PM
String Slingin' Shredaholic

My Photos: (0)
Default Mesa Boogie Rectoverb?

I know I haven't been here in a while, so I hope you guys don't mind if I ask for some help.. But if things go according to plan, my Egnater Tourmaster stack will be sold this Thursday evening, as I need a smaller amp for college this fall. I am a tone freak, as I know most of us are here, and I've been researching amps for a few months now, and now is the time to make my final decision.

There are two main rigs I am debating between, and they are as follows:

Mesa Boogie Rectoverb 50 combo
Egnater Tweaker 15 stack + Line 6 POD HD 500 for preamps and fx

I realize these two set-ups are quite different, but here's my view points on them to maybe make it make more sense to you guys.

Mesa Boogie: I've always wanted a Mesa Recto. I realize this isn't the Dual Recto, and that the majority of the tones I hear are indeed from the Dual, but I can't afford the Recto stack, nor do I have the room to keep it in a college dorm. I also realize that I won't be able to crank it much and achieve the sound that I've come to lust after very often, but I've heard some killer tones even at bedroom levels from this amp via YouTube. I realize the quality from YouTube isn't great and it's compressed and stuff, but I figure that I can get a reasonably close sound. Basically, I will be fulfilling a dream of mine by purchasing the Rectoverb combo.. The only thing I'm worried about is that some people say that Mesa's can be finicky, and that some people can get theirs to sound great, whereas others spend weeks trying to find that "sweet spot" and can't ever seem to find it. With Mesa's being so finicky, I'm worried that I may not be able to coax a killer tone out of it...