Shred Guitars  

Go Back   Shred Guitars > ESP Guitars > ESP guitars

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 09:58 PM
NFG

My Photos: (0)
Default "$100bills covered" ESP Custom Maverick 1980's or early 1990's

Hi everyone,

I'm a drummer who has been playing sloppy guitar for about 8 years now, and I recently moved to Los Angeles and decided to collect some cool guitars. I was browsing through a flea market in Hollywood where I came across this:

I picked it up to look for the "LTD" and realized immediately it was older than that. I turned it around to the neck plate to see if it said 48th street or NY but it was black plate with ESP and a serial number 900xx.

My dad owns a music shop back in the day, he is in NY but talking with him he said it was probably an early 90's Japanese parts assembled in NYC at the 48th street custom shop. He said back in the day he used to sell ESP parts in NY, they were making "cheap" replacement strat parts. This struck me odd, but I trust my father's opinion, and reconsidered my purchase as a bad deal.

In the meantime I contacted ESP directly, ESPtechinfo to be specific, giving them these pictures, and serial number, asking for any production info details. Two weeks later, I received this:

Quote:
Hello,

No production records for older ESP's.
Obviously custom made.
Possibly late 80's early 90's.
So I went on a search for other "money finish" guitars from that era, in which I found 2 mirage guitars recently sold on ebay for ridiculous money. All in all, I love this guitar, but would like more info on it. ESP is no help, they won't respond to my second email asking if there is a way to tell where it was assembled, etc.

If anyone has any info on this guitar or any questions, opinions, offers, I'm all ears.